Blog Update

It’s been a considerable while since I’ve updated this blog (several months, as a matter of fact) but I figured now would an appropriate time to give this blog a fresh new face. Since the last time this has been updated, which was in April (hard to believe it has been that long), I’ve been keeping myself quite busy. One of the things that has occupied my time over the last several months is a short film that I co-wrote, co-produced and directed entitled Date of Loss. Actually, I have a funny story that coincides with the genesis of that film’s birth and the explanation for the decline in maintaining this blog.

In March, shortly before I temporarily gave up regularly updating this blog, I was trying to salvage one of my other short films, entitled Fallen. I had been working on that film for the better part of three years, and due to creative and professional difficulties with the producers of the film, the film was languishing in post-production hell. It had been several years since I had worked on another film, and I was devoting nearly all of my creative and professional attention on finishing the film and getting it released. After all, I made a commitment to countless people that I would release the film, and I’m not someone who ordinarily reneges on a promise. However, I was slowly realizing that working on Fallen was getting nowhere, and it was literally sucking the creative juices straight out of me, like a leech would suck blood from your skin. I had to make a choice, and toward the end of March, I made the immensely difficult decision that I would be walking away from Fallen after three years.

Now, I’m not someone who traditionally believes in the concept of fate, and by extension I am agnostic, so I am not entirely convinced by the concept of religion or faith, either. However, on the same day that I came to realize that Fallen was over, I got a call from my colleague and oft-collaborator, David Hammond.  He called me to tell me of an opportunity to contribute to a web series called That Time of the Year in his hometown of Mansfield, Ohio. The web series would deal with the concept of time, and every episode would be individualistic and allow different filmmakers and storytellers to individually but collectively contribute to the series, akin to The Twilight Zone.  He pitched me the concept for a time travel story called Date of Loss. It was a science-fiction concept about the corporate angle of a time travel story, dealing with an insurance company that deals with insuring people for time travel, which is something I had never heard of before. For the first time in three years, my creative juices were rejuvenated, my artistic senses were tinkling, and the hairs at the back of my neck stood straight up. I knew right then and there that I would be making this film. You would think that I would have become slightly cynical given what had just recently transpired with Fallen (and, on top of that, I had been previously working on a short film called Closure, until the budget fell through), but that phone call was exactly what I needed.

Fast-forward to November, and Date of Loss has been written, produced, shot and finalized. It was exactly what I needed right then and there, and for that I am eternally grateful. Sometimes all we need is a little push to get ourselves out of a bad situation or a  bad rut, and who knew that the day one door closed, another door would open. On top of that, it allowed me, for the first time in my “career”, to work outside of my hometown of Chicago. It was definitely a challenge, but one I relished, as I did most of the writing and pre-production work from my home in Chicago. However, everyday I woke up at 9am and I started immediately exchanging emails with Dave Hammond, the co-writer and executive producer of the film, and Beau Roberts, the talented virtuoso who juggled multiple roles on the film: director of photography, editor, producer as well as being the creative extraordinaire who devised the concept for the web series in the first place. Every morning gave me a newfound sense of purpose and meaning. Instead of wallowing in self-misery and frustration, I had a singular, driving purpose that propelled me from the moment I woke up to the moment I shut my eyes and fell into a quiet, peaceful slumber.

As November rolls around, and a New Year is upon us, I have been re-energized, rejuvenated, and reborn. I have a slew of new projects on my plate, including finally getting Wake to several film festivals. I am incredibly excited at the limitless possibilities and I look forward to seeing what awaits. I will be sharing several of the things that have occupied my time over the last few months, including Date of Loss as well as a documentary called The Dark Fan Rises which chronicles my experiences as an extra on The Dark Knight Rises in Pittsburgh over the summer. I’ll also be sure to better maintain this blog, and share news, information, and updates on the projects that I am currently working on.

Leave a Reply

